What do people think of Iron-Bound Gym?

Google Reviews

    5 star review  Iron-bound Gym, it’s just an great local gym, with updated equipment, and clean! The staff are fantastic, all smiles there πŸ’―.. even there customers/clients are fantastic. Changed my life, I’m healthier, happier, and better looking..so thank you Iron-Bound Gym for doing so πŸ™‚

    thumb Brian Whytal
    1/31/2021

    5 star review  Iron Bound Gym is a true treasure in Williamsburg. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and they all have been committed to following safety measures during the pandemic to keep everyone healthy and safe. The machines and equipment work well and my workouts have always been positive experiences. They are community-minded and host and participate in fun events throughout the year. If you are looking for a new gym or if you are new to town, go check them out!

    thumb Grayson Moore
    1/11/2021

    5 star review  I had a wonderful time at this gym. I left only because I like to change where I go every so often, but it truly is a place I will miss. Scott, the owner, is wonderful. When I first decided to look into it, I did a tour and got a week pass, and when I came in to use it he still remembered me by name. They have events pretty often, at least pre-COVID, so that made it feel more like a friendly place instead of just a gym. I really appreciate how they handled COVID as well, keeping communication open and giving members options. It is a small gym, but that's what's charming about it. It makes the environment more personal and friendly, especially with the staff. I was mostly in the weights area, and I almost never had a problem with it being crowded or waiting on something to free up, I would go around 10-11 AM The pricing is affordable, most gyms are in that price ballpark but they're flexible with options like student or couples' pricing. I had a really great experience and will miss it a lot! A side note for any women who ever feel uncomfortable or objectified in a gym: you really won't here. It's a different crowd than big commercial gyms, and you won't have to worry about being persistently approached and gawked at, the people here do their own thing and stay in their zone.

    thumb Emma
    9/14/2020

    5 star review  The best gym!! Clean, bright, and has everything I need and more for a good workout. Every employee are so personable and helpful. They really think about their members first. I also really love their smoothies. πŸ’ͺπŸ»β€οΈπŸ‹πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ

    thumb Dana Reminsky
    8/01/2018

Yelp Reviews

      Great little gym. The pictures online don't do it justice. It's much bigger than it looks. Has every machine for every possible exercise. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Didn't give it 5 stars because it was super quiet and lacking energy. I will come back here next time I'm in Williamsburg

    thumb Eric J.
    4/02/2019

      I joined Iron Bound last year in March after moving here from Chicago. Needless to say, I have not been disappointed. This gym is geared more towards people searching for an active lifestyle (or bodybuilders) rather than those looking for a training environment. With that being said, they do have a little crossfit area that is perfect for those looking for more of a training environment. The back area has a crossfit rig, bumper plates, bands, rings, assault bike, skierg, assault treadmill, and it has a white board filled with WOD's. There is an additional fee for the training area but it is well worth it for those looking to practice their olympic lifts or pr on deadlifts/squats.

    They have a smoothie bar with multiple options and they have a little retail store with snacks and clothing for purchase as well. In regards to covid, they have installed these antimicrobial protectors on all their commonly used surfaces (benches in locker room and door handles), which I am a fan of. Most gyms do not have this and I appreciate the extra care they put into protecting the guests during covid.

    In addition, the female locker room has a "take one leave one" book exchange in it! I love how this gym is more than a gym- it really is a family.

    To sum this up, I am a huge fan of this gym and wish I lived closer, I recently moved to Norfolk. I come back as often as I can for the family feel and equipment.

    thumb Jennie K.
    6/16/2020

      I reached out to Scott when I was planning on moving to the area and I absolutely love him and his staff. From day one they have made me feel at home and have always gone out of their way to make sure that I know where the equipment is and have enough Room and feel comfortable. I train here regularly and I make sure to always say hello to the workers because they seriously make this gym an amazing place. I pay extra for the functional fitness Room and will continue to do so even after my initial 3 months because it is totally worth it. Even during peak times the gym is perfectly laid out so that I always have Room and never feel like I'm crowded or walking over other people in order to train. The restrooms and the equipment are always clean and inviting.

    thumb Antonia H.
    8/01/2017

      I was a member for almost 5 years. The atmosphere in the gym is great, and they have equipment for any type of lifting regimen. Good selection of machines, plenty of free weights, a TRX, plyometric boxes, etc.

    The staff is very friendly and I always felt welcome.

    thumb Brendan B.
    6/08/2021